

#### **Colorado Election 2020 Results**

This year, Colorado turned even more blue. President Donald Trump lost to Joe Biden by double-digit margins. Senator Cory Gardner lost to former Governor John Hickenlooper, making all statewide elected officials Democrats for the first time in 84 years. In the only competitive congressional race (3rd), newcomer Lauren Boebert (R) beat former state representative Diane Mitsch Bush (D).

#### In the State House:

- Representative Bri Buentello (HD 47) lost her seat to Republican Stephanie Luck
- Representative Richard Champion (HD 38) lost his seat to Democrat David Ortiz
- Republicans were trying to cut the Democrat majority by 3 seats to narrow the committee make up but ¾ targeted Democrats Reps. Cutter, Sullivan, and Titone held their seats
  - Democrats will control the House with the same **41-24** margin

#### **House Democratic Leadership**

- Speaker Rep. Alec Garnett (Denver) unopposed (Rep. Becker term limited)
- Majority Leader Rep. Daneya Esgar (Pueblo)
- Assistant Majority Leader Rep. Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez (Denver
- Co-caucus chairs Rep. Meg Froelich (Denver) and Rep. Lisa Cutter (Jefferson County)
- Co-whips Rep. Kyle Mullica (Northglenn) and Rep. Monica Duran (Wheat Ridge)
- The Speaker Pro Tempore will be appointed later. Current Speaker Pro Tem Janet Bucker was elected to the Senate.
- Democratic JBC members are appointed in the House and Rep. Esgar's slot will need to be filled. Rep. McCluskie is the other current Democratic member.

## **House Republican Leadership**

- Minority Leader Hugh McKean (Loveland)
- Assistant Minority Leader Tim Geitner (El Paso County)
- Whip Rod Pelton (Cheyenne Wells)
- Caucus Chair Janice Rich (Grand Junction)
- Joint Budget Committee Kim Ransom (Douglas County)

## In the State Senate:

- Senator Bob Rankin beat Democrat Karl Hanlon by less than 1,000 votes
- Senator Kevin Priola beat Democrat Paula Dickerson by just under 1%

- Democrat Chris Kolker picked up Senator Jack Tate's (R) open seat
- Democrat Senators Rachel Zenzinger and Jeff Bridges were considered targets but won with comfortable margins
- Reps. Larry Liston, Sonia Jaquez Lewis, Janet Buckner, and James Coleman all successfully moved to the Senate
  - Democrats increased their lead by 1 seat and will control the Senate 20-15

## **Senate Democratic Leadership**

- President Sen. Leroy Garcia (Pueblo)
- President pro tempore Sen. Kerry Donovan (Vail)
- Majority leader Sen. Steve Fenberg (Boulder)
- Assistant majority leader Sen. Rhonda Fields (Aurora)
- Whip Sen. Jeff Bridges (Denver)
- Caucus chair Sen. Julie Gonzales (Denver)
- JBC members Sen. Dominick Moreno (Commerce City) and Sen. Chris Hansen (Denver) who defeated current member Sen. Rachel Zenzinger.

# **Senate Republican Leadership**

- Minority Leader Sen. Chris Holbert (Littleton)
- Assistant Minority Leader Sen. John Cooke (Greeley)
- Whip Sen. Paul Lundeen (Colorado Springs)
- Caucus Chair Sen. Jim Smallwood (Littleton)
- Joint Budget Committee Sen. Bob Rankin (Carbondale)

### **Ballot Measures:**

Voters were a little more inconsistent when it came to voting for ballot measures. They voted to pass both a paid family leave program and Amendment B (repeal of the Gallagher amendment) which repeals a fixed statewide ratio for residential and nonresidential property tax revenue. They also voted to decrease the state income tax and send any future fee increases to the voters which will put a major strain on the budget for years to come.

All the ballot measures passed except:

- Amendment C, bingo rules, did not reach 55 percent threshold needed to become law
- Proposition 115, late term abortion ban, lost with 59 percent no vote